The 340 Ton Rock Moves

29 02 2012

Last night the infamous 340 ton rock began its very big move to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) from a rock quarry in Jurupa Valley California. I think anyone who saw the number of men conferring in the hour before they set off could assume it was a logistical nightmare! I tried to take a photo of the rock and the men but my flash just lit up all the reflective strips on their vests!

Construction workers gather to confer on the move of the big rock.

My flash captures the reflective strips on the vests of the men preparing to move the big rock.

All of them were wearing the requisite construction boots on their feet, including the men who got to walk eight miles next to the rock. Hum….I have a feeling that is not going to be good….Hope those boots have arch supports!

The men, without the flash!

Lots of people were there and lots of news reporters were there as well. I had only been there a few minutes when I was snagged by a reporter and camera man for a Korean television station. I have a feeling I won’t be getting to see that interview! I was glad it was cold because I think the red scarf around my neck hid the double chin very nicely! I talked to a gentleman who had been out every day this past week to see the giant trailer and watch the progress of the rock being moved from the quarry out to the road, getting ready for its trip.

This is a closeup of the plastic wrapped rock sitting on its trailer.

The rock will only be moving about eight miles tonight. Rumor has it that Good Morning America was going to be visiting it at its resting spot this morning, just down the road and still in my fair city. While I realize that moving this rock is a bit of an engineering marvel, the thing I get the biggest kick out of is how BIG this story has become.

I told Hubby that we can go see it move again tonight! Come to find out the rock will be making its way near Hubby’s work. We joked about his many, many  opportunities to see that rock!

When we finally dragged back home I thanked Hubby for being my rock viewing buddy. He said he would do it any time. Got to love a guy who will go with you to watch a rock move.

And there it goes! The huge trailer finally began its move at 10:30 p.m. or so.

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 02 2012
Beth

Wow! kind of like the olympic torch but bigger and no fire.

1 03 2012
Michele

This rock was on the MSN News online yesterday.

29 02 2012
Michele

My landlady is Korean. I wonder if she’ll watch your interview on the Korean News.

Leave a Reply

